Page 1 of 1

How to make a running record of signals?

Posted: May 22 2007
by Guest
How to make a running record of signals?

for example, I want to know when the stochastic hits 80 or 20.

is it possible for MC to output this information to a txt file (or a window) every time this condition is met ?

I want this information in a running record, so the next signal can append to the end of the file.

Your help is appreciated.

Posted: May 23 2007
by Kate
You will need to write an indicator (with Print) to do this.

Posted: May 23 2007
by Januson
Where does print output the information?

Posted: May 24 2007
by sparkz
The print statement outputs to the output tab of PLEditor. If you can't see an output tab check it's enabled under the view menu. Very handy feature. :)

I'm not 100% sure on the full syntax of "Print" but it's something like:

Print(var, var, ...);

where "var" is a variable or string. Variables can have optinal formatting options appended to them. Example:

Print("Bar=", BarNumber:6:0, " Price=", MyPrice:7:4);

where 6 and 7 are the total width and 0 and 4 are the decimal places.

I believe you can also write files in PL but haven't actually tried that. Maybe it only works on TS? Someone?

Posted: May 24 2007
by Januson
Okay I see... Nice, I was aware of an output from PL, but didn't know that MultiCharts while running was capable of printing to that output window.

Posted: May 24 2007
by Guest
many thanks for the information.

I will give it a try tomorrow.

Posted: May 24 2007
by Guest
I have made the following code:

Code: Select all

if h > h[1] then print( h, ">", h[1] );
if l < l[1] then print( l, "<" , l[1] );
I am running this on a 1min chart.

now, where can I find the output log ?

can I have it continuously displayed and updated on the screen ?


Many thanks for your help.

Posted: May 24 2007
by Guest
I have made the following code:

Code: Select all

if h > h[1] then print( h, ">", h[1] );
if l < l[1] then print( l, "<" , l[1] );
I am running this on a 1min chart.

now, where can I find the output log ?

can I have it continuously displayed and updated on the screen ?


Many thanks for your help.
ok, I see it now. It is in the PLEditor... bottom window.

Posted: May 24 2007
by Guest
May I suggest to TSSUPPORT to make the output window part of the wsp ?